New Martin County Commissioners inaugurated at recent meeting


(L) District 5 – Ed Ciampi, District 2 – Ed Fielding, District 4 – Sarah Heard, District 3 – Harold Jenkins, District 1 – Doug Smith. (Source:

The five member Board of County Commissioners (BOCC) is the legislative governing body of Martin County. The most recently elected board members were sworn in at the inauguration ceremony, November 22.

Each Commissioner is elected to a four-year term by voters.  Exercising their legislative powers, the County Commission adopts ordinances (local laws) and resolutions to establish policies and programs to protect the health, safety, and general welfare of Martin County residents.  The County Commission also guides the growth and development of the County to be consistent with the public interest.

Chapter 125.01 of the Florida Statutes establishes the specific duties and powers of the Board of County Commissioners.

The County Commission appoints the County Administrator and assigns, to the Administrator, executive responsibilities and powers to implement its policies. There are 12 departments under the direction of the County Administrator.  These departments combine their efforts to provide County residents with needed services, information and programs.

The Board of County Commissioners meets in regular session, throughout the year, on scheduled Tuesdays at 9 a.m. All meetings are open to the public and citizens are encouraged to attend the meetings. There is opportunity for the public to comment at every meeting at 9:05 a.m. and 5 p.m.

Recordings and videos of past BOCC meetings are available on MCTV Video On Demand. Agendas are also available for BOCC and other county meetings.

For video of the November 22 meeting and the inauguration ceremony:

Related posts:

Comments are closed.